I want to emphasize that female friendships are the purest and most fulfilling relationships one can have. Through sharing experiences, offering support and being honest with each other, many amazing women have lifted me up. I am extremely grateful for my female friends and cherish them deeply.

I recently stumbled upon an old blog post of mine where I talked about a past friend.

I decided to repost it because I wanted to share some lessons I’ve learned over the years.

In the post, I described one my friend as a good companion but also someone who was vague and mysterious to me.

We had a video call a few years ago where we both pretended everything was okay, even though we had unfinished business and no closure. She ghosted me and I didn’t know what her problem was. For a long time, I blamed myself, but I eventually realized we just grew apart.

She used to be like a sister to me, always having my back. We went through some funny and nostalgic experiences together, like getting caught by the principal for having a secret code diary in 7th grade, and she was there for me when I had my first breakup. She helped me discover my passion for English, and I’m grateful to her for that.

However, as I read what I wrote years ago, I could see that I was a hurt girl who didn’t understand what I did wrong. Later on, my friend blamed me for everything bad that happened in her life without giving me a proper explanation.

I eventually realized that our friendship was toxic. She made me feel insecure about my body weight, didn’t care when I got bullied, and acted as if she was better than me.

Although I know she had good intentions, it doesn’t justify the negative impact she had on me when I trusted her the most.

I had a very tough time getting over the end of my friendship, but I am grateful that I was able to move past it eventually.

Currently, I have amazing female friends who are incredibly supportive and loyal to me, and they stand by my side no matter what challenges we face together.

In retrospect, the friendship I had with my old friend seemed immature compared to the uplifting relationships I have with other women now.

We’ve grown so much together by encouraging and assisting each other through our personal hardships, and I find that to be a wonderful thing.

The difficulty of breaking up with a friend is often overlooked, and it’s important to recognize that there are better people out there who can positively impact our lives. It took me a while to understand this, but letting go of my friendship with someone from my past middle school days has transformed me into a person who values and respects their relationships with others.

Stick with the people who pull the magic out of you instead of madness!

Did you ever have any unusual friendships? Did you eventually grow apart from them? How did you manage the situation?


Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started