I have to begin preparing for my final semester, but for some strange reason, I’ve been avoiding it.

I understand the importance of studying, getting good grades, and concentrating, but despite that, I haven’t been motivated.

This picture pretty much explains the situation I’m in right now…

I was worried about why I’ve been feeling lethargic lately, so I searched for answers on Google.

As it turns out, I’ve been procrastinating for several reasons that are not ideal.

Many people know what procrastination is, and it’s not good for us. When we procrastinate, we often get labeled as lazy or useless, but sometimes it’s hard to get started when we feel stressed or tired. It’s not fair that we feel so exhausted at a young age, and it worries me.

People sometimes procrastinate because they’re afraid. They might be scared of failing, succeeding, or not knowing what will happen.

For example, in my case I’m afraid of failing an exam that I might not want to study for it, so i put it off.

Or someone who’s afraid of what might happen if they succeed might not take action on a project.

Fear is a strong feeling that can stop us from doing things.

I’m not saying that what I’m doing is okay or that I can just stop it easily. It’s something that I’ve been struggling with for a long time, especially when it comes to academics because I’m scared about what the future holds for me. I’m so anxious about what’s next in my life that I’m not even focusing on the things I need to deal with right now.

I’m having trouble concentrating on my work because I lack motivation. My only goal is to get into a good university for my Master’s degree, and that should be enough to motivate me to study for my exams, right?

However, I’ve never been interested in it, and it’s all very confusing and frustrating for me.

Perfectionism is another factor that can lead to procrastination. I have high standards and expectations for myself that I procrastinate because I am afraid of not meeting those standards.

I may spend a lot of time planning and preparing for a task, but never actually start it because I am waiting for the “perfect” moment or solution.

Finally, procrastination can also be caused by a lack of self-discipline.

Ouch!

I know I lack self-discipline because I struggle to stay focused and motivated, and I can be easily distracted by other activities.

I swear to God even as I’m writing this blog post, I keep getting distracted and opening apps like Instagram and WhatsApp to message people, or reading other articles and things.

I have difficulty prioritizing tasks and spend too much time on activities that are not productive or important like scrolling through Instagram reels.

For what joy?

I don’t know.

Not managing time properly can also lead to procrastination, but in my case, it’s not very helpful because I never really do my work properly.

Procrastination can have negative effects on an individual’s life, including increased stress levels, decreased productivity, and missed opportunities.

That’s why I’m scared and worried because I need to start working on myself and what’s best for me. I have a whole future ahead of me, and I can’t afford to be lazy right now. Everything is happening right now, so I need to keep working hard to achieve my goals.

Dealing with this situation can be extremely overwhelming and stressful, but I searched for answers online and found some helpful tips that I think would benefit anyone who’s going through the same thing. It’s important to practice what I’m about to share and learn from it.

Here are some broad but impactful and efficient methods to conquer it:

1. Identify the reason: The first step in prostrating procrastination is to identify the cause. question yourself why you are procrastinating. Is it because you are terrified of negligence or success? Are you lacking encouragement? Do you have poor time handling expertise? Once you’ve associated the cause, you can take way to address it.

2. Break tasks into lower ways: Large tasks can be overpowering and can lead to procrastination. To avoid this, break tasks into lower, more manageable way. This will make it easier to get started and help you stay focused.

3. Set deadlines: Deadlines can be a great motivator. Establish practical deadlines for yourself and adhere to them. Doing so will enable you to remain on schedule and prevent procrastination.

4. Remove distractions: Distractions can be a major barricade to productivity. Identify the effects that distract you, similar as social media or TV, and remove them from your workspace.

5. Award yourself: Rewarding yourself for completing tasks can be a great motivator. Set small prices for yourself for completing tasks, similar as taking a break or enjoying a snack.

These could be basic and common notions that many of us are aware of, but often neglect to implement, myself included. However, this time around, it has to be different because I am determined to focus on these aspects and exert the necessary effort since I am aware of my goals and the hard work required to achieve them.

Best of luck to those who are taking their exams. I hope all of us excel in them!


6 responses to “Overcoming Procrastination for Semester Exams.”

  1. EFINO Avatar

    Great article 👍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Safa Avatar

      Thank you!

      Like

  2. New Media Works Avatar
    New Media Works

    Hi Safa 🙂

    I saw this new post a few ago, and I was disappointed that you would ask Google *anything*.

    I expect people to realize that the big G company is not interested in you and / or me — the only thing the G company cares about is more profit for the big G company (Alphabet or whatever they’ve decided to use as their Alias).

    I can only hope that people will gain such enlightenment and break free from such manipulative companies.

    🙂 Norbert

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Safa Avatar

      Hello again Norbert.

      I agree with your viewpoint, but my approach is to not just rely on Google search results. I also explore various blog sites and read personal stories and experiences shared by people. I extract valuable points from these sources and share them here.

      Thank you for taking time to read my post!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. New Media Works Avatar
        New Media Works

        I still think that interacting with some companies *IN ANY WAY AT ALL* can have a significantly negative effect. The more people interact with companies who make money by selling information about them to OTHER companies (their so-called *partners*), the more skewed these persons information will become over time (in some cases, it simply becomes too difficult to scrub these kinds of misinformation from the Internet, perhaps simply because the influence of such spyware companies is so large).

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Safa Avatar

        I comprehend your point, but it’s a fact that almost everything is available on Google and the websites it offers. Although I agree with your opinion, I am unsure about how to avoid using Google altogether.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started